She’s Got a Way About Her

I’m just gonna write what’s on my heart today and I hope you’ll indulge me as I share.

I wish to make this particular post as little about me as absolutely possible but I must take a moment to share with you a snapshot of accomplishments so that I might help you understand the point of my writings today.

I’ve been blessed to accomplish a good bit of success in areas of my life. Singing tenor with Greater Vision, writing music that has been recorded by my peers, planting a church and growing it from a congregation consisting of my immediate to family to a congregation of 250+ at it’s peak and now back with the trio where my full time ministry began… Yes, I’ve been blessed.

Now, as impressive as my resume might be, I’ll have to be honest and tell you that every success I’ve enjoyed would have never been realized had it not been for a very special person in my life. I’m sure you’re guessing that I speak of the Lord. While I do realize that without Him my every effort would be in vain, my highest praise goes to Him for something other than a goal accomplished. If I could thank Jesus for one thing on this earth, I’d have to thank Him for Kim.

About to pop with our second child 24 years ago, she never hesitated as I told her we were driving to Tennessee so that I could chase my dream. Little did she know that my hitting the road would drastically change the landscape of her life. Raised in Burlington NC and hardly ever leaving Alamance County, now she would call Morristown her home where she hardly knew a soul and would spend the better part of every week alone with two kids in a duplex on Halifax Circle. Only as I express this by writing do I realize what a life-changer this must have been to a young twenty-one year old mommy of two. All of this with no complaints to me about what I had chosen to do with our life. Wow.

Those first five years with GV contributed quite a bit to growth beyond our years. When 1996 saw me making a change from tenor in a trio to a soloist, very few questions were posed, only support and the assurance that she was by my side. That particular road witnessed us moving from Morristown to Kingsport, the birth of our fourth child and more mountain tops and difficulties than I would have time or care to share. Our sixth year of solo ministry proved to be unbelievably challenging as we experienced the premature passing of my father. After we received the horrid news, within two hours we were in the van and headed for NC. If I were to take the time to write every emotion we experienced on that trip back to our hometown, I would never get this post published. Let’s just say, dad’s passing had a lot to do with our moving back to Burlington and what would come in our next chapter of life.

Did I say next chapter? Yep, as I mentioned before, we had recently gone through quite a bit that left us questioning where we were on this path called life. Very long story short… I answered the call on my life to preach the gospel and started a Bible study in my home that would eventually grow and move us to the local YMCA then on to the purchase of a warehouse in the downtown Burlington area that we would upfit  and grow our congregation to more than 250 people. Needless to say, this kept me rather busy and preoccupied but since I’ve realized that the giant steps we took in ministry there would have never been taken if it weren’t for a godly loving wife walking close by my side and supporting me in every step. So often she gave wisdom that I foolishly overlooked which has certainly cost me more than I care to admit.

Decisions were made by me that lead us down a road of hurt, anguish, confusion, heartache, disgust and regret and we found ourselves in the midst of a fight for our home. As I look back upon that time of our life, I still am filled with sadness.

Thankfully the sunrise follows the night. The love we have for one another has seen us through every trial we’ve endured and has made us stronger. Knowing that I can text my bride right now that I love her and know that I’ll receive a reply assuring me that she loves me too means more to me than you may realize.

Image

Told you 🙂

Now… I’m back on the bus that, twenty-four years ago was a van and trailer, and Kimberly is at home pouring herself into our youngest daughter, taking care of our home and being the wonderful supportive wife that she’s always been.

My every success is because of her. When you see me out on the road singing and the Lord uses the music to bless you real good, you need to realize that I’m only out here able to do what God has called me to because of the godly woman, He made for me, who is back at home sending her prayers and love my way.

Thank you, Kimberly. You are my hero.

Image   Image 

Image   Image   

Image

Feel free to send your appreciation to this godly lady! I’ll pass it along to her.

About Chris Allman

I'm one of the millions who have experienced the repercussion of my sinful past. Unlike many, through Christ, I have recognized that the path before me does not have to be determined by the path behind. I have experienced the sweet forgiveness of God and have therefore chosen to walk in that forgiveness. Forgiving self is a day to day task and I believe that's why His mercies are new every morning. I pray that this daily reminder that we can choose to begin living today like we wish we'd lived in the past will be a solace for many who struggle with those things they wish they hadn't done.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to She’s Got a Way About Her

  1. PAM says:

    LOVE THIS CHRIS! My husband is as involved in my music ministry as I am and he can’t sing a lick! BUT his commitment to me and the Lord has shown me that I could never fulfill my calling if I didn’t have his support. He drives our bus, runs our sound, takes care of our product and encourages me. When I see him in the back of a church raising his hands praising the Lord with tears running down his face while I’m singing, I know that God called him into this ministry as much as He did me. You are truly blessed to have Kimberly in your life. Your ministry is her ministry as well. She’s just behind the scenes. But God sees her every time she kisses you good-bye to crawl on that bus and she tells you to “sing good” and that she loves you. He also sees every time she handles a situation at home without you but does so without complaining. Yes, you are blessed my friend. It takes a special person to be married to someone in ministry, but God already knew that didn’t He? Looking forward to seeing you and GV at Victory Baptist Church (my home church) on May 18th. Blessings to you and your family and thanks so much for sharing!

  2. yolanda says:

    I hope my husband can honestly say the same for me one day. We all have our share of learning no doubt. God bless you both.

  3. Thanks, Kim, for being the wind beneath Chris’ wings. God bless you.

  4. I very much appreciate the ministry your family has for the Lord and the way He has framed your family to contribute to your ministry in song. God bless, Chris, Kim & family.

  5. We praise God for your wife and you! Praise God for her. Only eternity will show her how many blessings He has in store for her. Both of your rewards will be great! Bob & Sandy Y.

  6. Glenda says:

    Behind every successful man is a woman! Yes, that’s an old cliche, but it is true! Not only has Kim been your staunchest supporter, the other wives of gospel musicians are in the same club, and it’s not an easy club to be a member of. Thank you, Kim, for giving your man the strength and courage to follow God’s leading for all these years. You will share in every crown that he has earned when Eternity comes and he casts those crowns at Jesus’ feet. The two of you started your life together at very young ages, and you have grown together with God’s help into a mighty force for Him. We love you and your family LOTS! 🙂

  7. shirley says:

    What a great story Chris. I love those kind. Bob & I just celebrated our 53rd. Anniversary. What a wonderful wife you have

    Love

    Bob & Shirley Barber from Pa Can’t wait to see you guys in April at Hartville Ohio You guys are the best.I play Geralds 100 songs on my player everyday . I love it .

Leave a Reply

