Somebody’s Watching You!

Although we know better, it’s our natural inclination to believe the old adage, “Out of sight, out of mind.”  We tend to think, in our privacy, that every emotion, thought and deed goes unnoticed but, of course, that is where we are grossly mistaken.

Those of us who were blessed to be raised in a home where church was the rule and not the option, were taught from a very early age that God sees everything.  Often our spoken  testimony reflects that we still believe that truth while our actions would never support such a belief.

I’ve been terribly guilty of behaving in such a way that would break the heart of God.  Although I knew He was observing, I behaved as if He didn’t have a clue.  Was it because I knew He would readily forgive?  Had I grown complacent?  I can’t give an answer for either of those questions but I can say, on this side of the sin, it pays to recognize how privy God is to the goings on of our lives.

The Psalmist wrote in Psalms 139:13a For thou hast possessed my reins… In the Greek, the word reins has both a literal and figurative definition.  The literal translation is kidneys or the inward parts.  In other words, God has created every part of who I am.  The figurative translation is seat of emotion and affection.  Matthew Henry sheds a very bright light on this portion of scripture…

“Thou art Master of my most secret thoughts and intentions, and the innermost recesses of my soul; thou not only knowest, but governest, them, as we do that which we have possession of;”

Be sure ladies and gentlemen that you are never alone.  That one who sees the very intent of your heart is the same one who deals the consequences for sin.  Every action that offends the Father begins in the mind.  I’ve often referred to the mind as a battleground where the enemy seeks to gain control and hopes to eventually cause each of God’s children to fall.  As our helper, God will never give up without a fight.  We may see His chastisement and allowance of repercussion as uncaring but it truly is that which He uses to shake us to our senses.

With that in mind, my prayer is that this friendly reminder of God’s evasive personality will cause us each to guard our thoughts!

Now, on another note… As you’ve noticed, I haven’t been posting as regularly as I once was.  Earlier on in my blogging I mentioned that I was working on a Daily devotional book.  That has diverted my attention and has taken quite a bit of my time away from this outlet.  prayerfully, I’ll complete the writing part of that book around September which means it could be available around the end of this year.  I hope its something that God can use to bless folks in their daily walk with Him while offering insight to the scripture in such a way as to help the reader face another day.

As always, thanks for reading!!!  Please leave your thoughts and comments for me and others to enjoy!  If you haven’t signed up to follow my blog via email, what are you waiting for???!!!  Do it now!  The button is to your right >>>>>>>>>>>>>>

 

About Chris Allman

I'm one of the millions who have experienced the repercussion of my sinful past. Unlike many, through Christ, I have recognized that the path before me does not have to be determined by the path behind. I have experienced the sweet forgiveness of God and have therefore chosen to walk in that forgiveness. Forgiving self is a day to day task and I believe that's why His mercies are new every morning. I pray that this daily reminder that we can choose to begin living today like we wish we'd lived in the past will be a solace for many who struggle with those things they wish they hadn't done.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Somebody’s Watching You!

  1. Janice Allman says:

    As always very insightful. Another awesome word from God through you. Looking forward to the devotional book. Love, Mom

  2. Glenda says:

    Great to hear from you again, even if it is a sober reminder of what we already know. Thanks for the reminder to help us stay on our toes! I have also noticed that there are always others watching us, even when we are not aware of it. Little eyes and ears of those around us are picking up things that we don’t know we’re leaving behind! It’s a moment-by-moment walk, with Him by our side, helping us to make good decisions about our behavior in the grocery store, the local Wal-Mart, at sporting events, and on and on….. HE is always there, and others are watching to see how we behave under less-than-ideal circumstances! Looking forward to that devotional guide, too! 🙂

  3. Candi Faulk says:

    It’s always a good to remind ourselves that God knows & sees everything we say, do & think. Sometimes my thoughts are not so good – I may think badly of someone for something they did but don’t know the whole story. My husband always told me to think about what I’m going to say before I say it. I don’t always do that but should. Thank you for your reminder that God really knows me. Looking forward to your devotional book!

  4. Shirley Barber says:

    Can’t wait for your book to come out

  5. granonine says:

    “Oh be careful little eyes what you see. . . .ears what you hear. . .tongue what you say. . .hands what you do. . .feet where you go. . .”

Leave a Reply

