Will Your Children’s Children Know God?

I’ve often heard it told that history tends to repeat itself.  We see this truth represented in so many areas of life yet we seldom take the time to learn from what or past seeks to teach us.  We foolishly believe that things can be different with us!

As I’ve been blessed to be a part of the church in, what many would consider, the old days as well as the modern day church, I have realized a behavior that is destined to impact the church in a most negative of lights.

Allow me to share some scripture that I studied today along with what the Lord showed me in regards to how it relates to us today.

4. And Judah went up; and the Lord delivered the Canaanites and the Perizzites into their hand: and they slew of them in Bezek ten thousand men.5. And they found Adoni–bezek in Bezek: and they fought against him, and they slew the Canaanites and the Perizzites. Judges 1: 4, 5

I share this portion of scripture first to show you where the children of Israel were in regards to their obedience to God.  It was made clear by God, on several occasions, that the enemy was not to be spared.  Judah and Simeon followed this command and was blessed.

Let’s liken the church of the old days to these patriarchs who just followed God no matter what the world might have thought about their strong unapologetic stance against sin.  I remember when sin was called what it is… Sin.  Preachers, my father included, did not spare words as they assaulted the enemy as well as those who stood in his camp.  Their focus was to keep the house of God clean of what would tarnish her.  Sinners were loved but were met head on with a harsh word against the way they lived.  They would either get right with the Lord or get out!

If a couple living together came to the church house and the preacher knew how they were living, no doubt they would hear how their living arrangements were sinful and offensive to Holy God.  That is only one example.  I have no one in mind as I write this.  If it hit you, don’t bark at the messenger.

Now, let’s look on further in the text…

21. And the children of Benjamin did not drive out the Jebusites that inhabited Jerusalem; but the Jebusites dwell with the children of Benjamin in Jerusalem unto this day.
Judges 1:21
 

Does the word “Coexist” come to mind?  God said kill ’em but someone thought they could more godly than God Himself!  Surely God would smile on them just accepting these other humans.  Certainly the world would come flocking to these loving individuals because of the grace they’d shown the enemy.  It didn’t stop there.  Read on starting in verse 27 – 33.  Coexisting with the enemy became the new normal.

I can’t help but read this and see a snapshot of where the church is today.  That couple who lives together, in many churches, are not only allowed to join but are encouraged to do so.  Behavior that used to be seen as the threat that it truly is to the church is now skimmed over so that no one is offended.  Sinners should always be welcome to come in but they ought to always leave grieved by a spirit of conviction because their sin was targeted by the Holy Spirit as the preacher refused to pull any punches.

Let’s look quickly at where we are sadly headed unless there is a major awakening in the church…

10. And also all that generation were gathered unto their fathers: and there arose another generation after them, which knew not the Lord, nor yet the works which he had done for Israel. 11And the children of Israel did evil in the sight of the Lord, and served Baalim: Judges 2:10, 11
 
My father and grandfathers have been gathered unto their fathers in glory and this generation is quickly passing away.  I’m afraid that, just as happened to the children of Israel, there is coming a generation who is clueless as to whom the God we’ve served even is.
 
By choosing to just coexist and accept others “As they are”, this modern day church is guilty of lulling the generations coming behind us to sleep.  Will your children’s children know God?  If the answer is going to be yes, much has to be done to reverse this relaxed mentality that has plagued the church.  What will you do to help the church get back on God’s course?
 
Let me know what your thoughts are… Positive or negative.  Feel free to share this with your pastor.  May God be pleased and Him alone!

 

About Chris Allman

I'm one of the millions who have experienced the repercussion of my sinful past. Unlike many, through Christ, I have recognized that the path before me does not have to be determined by the path behind. I have experienced the sweet forgiveness of God and have therefore chosen to walk in that forgiveness. Forgiving self is a day to day task and I believe that's why His mercies are new every morning. I pray that this daily reminder that we can choose to begin living today like we wish we'd lived in the past will be a solace for many who struggle with those things they wish they hadn't done.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Will Your Children’s Children Know God?

  1. SGgal says:

    Chris, this is right on target! Thank you for all the work you put into this blog; it is truly an encouragement, and a challenge at the same time.

  2. Janice Allman says:

    Now that will preach. What a wonderful message and completely true. I like the song on the new CD Tell It Like It Is. Love you. Mom

  3. Brian says:

    I’m afraid that the broad road to hell is being increasingly populated by church members who, instead of being made to feel convicted of their sin, are being made to feel comfortable with their sin, all in the name of personal, political, or financial expediency. God help our pastors from the pulpit, and Christians from whatever platforms the Lord provides, boldly proclaim the truth of the Gospel while we still can.

    Thanks for your post, Bro. Chris.

  4. Glenda says:

    This is right on the money, Chris!! One thing we’ve observed in our own community is that, once the people know where we stand on sin, those who know they’re living an ungodly lifestyle will choose to attend a church that will “accept” them rather than one that is trying to gently lead them to the life that God has for them. Or, they will choose to avoid church altogether, blaming the “hypocrites” in the church for their absence from Christian fellowship. We have to realize that we are not responsible for their actions; our responsibility is to keep proclaiming the TRUTH, in love and prayer, knowing that the battle is the Lord’s and we are only His instruments. Thank you for pointing this out to us again. I’m thankful that our grandchildren are in a good church, but it’s hard to know what direction it might take as the leadership changes through the years. We MUST stay on our knees if we’re to see the right kind of change!

  5. This is good stuff, Chris! Thank you for putting the truth out there.

  6. Ken Cole says:

    Appreciate such undeniable, sound truth ! May the Holy Spirit embolden more of us pastors and teachers of the Word to faithfully proclaim this message. Since it’s not copywrited, may I have permission to pass it on ? Keep on preaching and singing the glorious Gospel of our Lord Jesus Christ.

  7. shirley says:

    Oh my so true. I am very disturbed as My oldest son is caught up in that we have told him but he won’t listen & sings on the praise team Please pray for him I am afraid ti send this to him God bless you

  8. Judy Piatak says:

    So true, my friend! It is hard to find a church that teaches the TRUE WORD OF GOD! We found a wonderful Bible based church with a Pastor that preaches the true word of God! Praise The Lord! God bless & keep you safe.

  9. Jeff Stice says:

    GREAT article bro !

  10. Great article. Right on target.

  11. I agree that the move to accept people “as they are” or “affirm” them where they are is dangerous and unbiblical. “Coexist” is a lie from the pit of Hell.

    However… I think some sharp “cleaning house” passages from Paul might have been a more appropriate choice for making this point than the slaughter of the Canaanites. The reason I say that is that the Canaanite slaughter involved innocent babies and children who had never sinned. It was a very tribal kind of thing. I’ll be honest and admit that I still struggle with passages like this. I’ve got no problem with God taking life. People taking innocent life is different. I just think there’s a big disanalogy between showing sinners the door, as it were, and delving into the problem of the Canaanite infants. It seems like a stretch to apply THOSE passages to today.

    • Chris Allman says:

      I stand by my choice of scripture here. It was God who commanded them to kill them ALL! Men, women and children alike. The issue here goes beyond killing innocent babies. It was an issue of direct disobedience. You say you’re alright with God killing people but you’re not good with other people taking life. The spirit of God left Saul when he spared life after he’d been directed to kill and leave NONE! Once again let me reiterate, it was God who commanded them not to leave any living and certainly not to mix company with them. Knowing all you know of scripture, I’m surprised at your comment here.

      • I didn’t say the passage was inauthentic, I just said that I struggle with it. I didn’t mean to set off an inerrancy debate. But I do think there are some great and pertinent passages from the Pauline epistles in particular that support your core message, which I completely agree with.

      • Chris Allman says:

        No doubt about it but the one I chose is perfectly relevant. I just think you missed the point. The point was obedience vs. disobedience. God’s command was to spare none. Benjamin felt as you did and disobeyed which ended up resulting in a generation who didn’t even know God.

      • Thanks for the gracious response. It must be odd to encounter someone like me—generally you wouldn’t see extreme right-wing conservatism going together with a hesitation over the Canaanites passage. But I had to get used to being a misfit long ago. 🙂

    • Chris Allman says:

      By the way, it was The Lord who laid what I shared on my heart. He used the scripture I shared to do so. I consider the whole council of God to be relevant to today.

  12. This is right on, Chris. It’s sad to see where the trends of todays “Christianity” are leading. Although we are in the world, the Bible is very clear that we are certainly not to conform to the world and as a result water down the gospel so that we don’t “offend” anyone.

    P.S. It was a pleasure meeting you last night!

  13. granonine says:

    Truth is often difficult to accept because it goes against our natural inclinations.

  14. JB says:

    I went through this chapter with my handful of teenage boys in Sunday School a couple of weeks ago. I never thought about the influence in the church, I took it with the influence on their lives others can have if they don’t pay attention to who they hang around with. This was another great post, makes me wish you updated it more often. So many preachers don’t realize the opportunity a blog can provide when they don’t get to preach 3 times a week.

Leave a Reply

