Let It Go!

I just felt compelled to take a moment and share what’s laying on my heart this evening.

It’s a matter of forgiveness. If I had to guess, I would feel safe in assuming that most of you who will take the time to read this post have been harmed by another. Allow me to go a little further… I great portion of you still carry a very heavy load caused by unresolved circumstances.

Families are separated and friendships are severed all because we tend to allow the pain of what someone either said or did to rule over us. We can’t understand how someone, who would purposefully harm us, could possibly merit a reprieve. In our mind, that person could never deserve any sort of blessing from us.

I’m not going to go on and on about this. The bottom line is, we’ve all been hurt. Some have experienced deeper scars than others but nonetheless, we’ve all been on the receiving end of pain. While we each naturally view these episodes as tragedy, I’d like to encourage you to take a step back and try to see things differently. Could it be that what you’ve experienced is God’s opportunity for you to become a little more like His son? Could what you’ve had to endure be the gateway of fulfilling the Father’s will for your life?

Quickly take a look at Joseph… Betrayed by his brothers, sold into slavery, falsely accused of inappropriate behavior, thrown into prison and forgotten about. Yet all the while, he never harbored a grudge. His willingness to forgive resulted in the survival of his family; Not only physically but emotionally.

What could your decision to forgive a transgressor create in your life? Could it change the landscape of the holidays this year? Could your willingness to pardon a wrong begin much needed healing in your family tree?

Who do you need to call? What kind of letter do you need to draft? When will you decide that the enemy is going to be the loser?

Let it go…

About Chris Allman

I'm one of the millions who have experienced the repercussion of my sinful past. Unlike many, through Christ, I have recognized that the path before me does not have to be determined by the path behind. I have experienced the sweet forgiveness of God and have therefore chosen to walk in that forgiveness. Forgiving self is a day to day task and I believe that's why His mercies are new every morning. I pray that this daily reminder that we can choose to begin living today like we wish we'd lived in the past will be a solace for many who struggle with those things they wish they hadn't done.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Let It Go!

  1. Glenda says:

    Thank you for this, Chris! I’m so thankful that God has seen fit to forgive me for all the wrongs in my life, and I feel that the best way to thank Him for that forgiveness is to pass it along to others along the way.

    Without going into a long story, I’ll just say that my mother-in-law (RIP) was a most vindictive lady, and it seemed that everything I would do to try to make her happy would result in more criticism. Finally, through a series of seemingly innocent events, I realized that she would never truly accept me, but that was not my job, anyway—I was supposed to be the best WIFE I could be for my husband, who just happened to be her son, and everything else would fall into place. Once I stopped trying to find ways to make her happy, things did start to become smoother, to some extent. It was not until after she and my father-in-law had both passed away that we received answers to why she had been so possessive of her son and so adamant that she would NOT accept his wife as part of the family. We learned that my husband had been adopted as a baby, and she threatened the rest of the family if anyone ever told him about his origin. It became clear to us at that time that she had always been afraid of losing him, and in her warped sense of things, she resented me because in her mind I was the “other woman” who took her son away from her. Once we learned of this connection, lots of questions were answered, and we have only pity for her now. Of course, while all the strange things were happening, I had no real choice but to forgive her, even though she never asked for forgiveness, since she never thought she was wrong about anything! She missed out on so much joy because of her refusal to accept other people into her life, and that’s what we do when we refuse to forgive those who have wronged us. Forgiveness frees us to live joyous lives, focusing on the blessings that God has given us!

    Bless you, Chris!

  2. Janice Allman says:

    Your message rings true, there is to much unforgiveness in this world. If people could realize what a burden would be lifted if they would just forgive and with Jesus’ help it is possible to forgive even the worst of hurts. Love you, Mom

  3. susangrf1947 says:

    I learned a lesson from having an unforgiving spirit within the past year. It was extremely painful because I was hurt by the pastor of my church whom I loved dearly even though I did not always agree with the changes he was making in the church. He came to my home and verbally attacked me because I had voted against his proposed change. I went on for nearly a year having my own “pity party” because I had lost my church and church family. Then one Saturday night, Dr. Charles Stanley preached a sermon called “Victory Over Unforgiveness”. Well — he may as well have hit me over the head with a 2 X 4 !! I finally got it !! The person who hurt you does NOT have to be sorry for what was said before you forgive him. It is your own responsibility to forgive even it the other person is never sorry. Since then, the pastor and I have forgiven each other and have agreed to disagree on certain points. While I cannot in good conscience be a member of that church because I can no longer support certain portions of the church constitution, at least I have peace about what happened, and he and I are friends again.

    Incidentally, for anyone with “forgiveness” issues, I would definitely recommend sending for Dr. Stanley’s sermon DVD: Healing Damaged Emotions, Part 6, “Victory Over Unforgiveness”. It’s wonderful.

    Thank you Chris for speaking to this very important topic. Love, Susan

  4. Sometimes it isn’t the forgiveness we give, it is the forgiveness that we are denied.

  5. Pingback: Getting Your Prayers Answered » Dr Charles Stanley Sermons

  6. granonine says:

    Excellent. Unforgiveness is often at the root of bitterness and depression. Learning to start the process of forgiveness also begins the process of uprooting that bitterness.

Leave a Reply

