Living Above Reproach

You’re all familiar with that term aren’t you?  That’s what the preacher is supposed to do… Right?!  Live a life above reproach.  Over in the letter that Paul wrote to Timothy, he used this when writing out the parameters for one who would seek to be a Bishop.  Actually the KJV uses the term blameless…

1. This is a true saying, If a man desire the office of a bishop, he desireth a good work. 2. A bishop then must be blameless, the husband of one wife, vigilant, sober, of good behaviour, given to hospitality, apt to teach; I Timothy 3:1,2

Wow, what a set of standards for one man to abide by!  And believe me… Those sweet little sheep will hold the man of God to it!

Now, I’ll be the first to say that any man who answers the high call of God to pastor His people ought to be prepared to walk a very thin line.  In order to deliver the gospel with life changing power, the messenger needs to be clean of anything that would cause him to skate around calling sin what it is… Sin!  I want to be able to trust my pastor and know that he lives the book that he preaches every Sunday.

With all of that said, I want us to get real for a moment.  Who has ever walked on planet earth, besides Jesus, who could be considered blameless?  Do you really think that your pastor’s every thought word and deed are untainted?  I mean… Never a cross thought about a church member?  Really?!  I was a pastor and I can tell you that I failed in that category on a number of times.  The pressures on the pastor to perform perfectly are pretty daunting.  If one were to look at the scripture reference above and consider that it only refers to the behaviors of a man, let’s face it, our pulpits would be vacant this Sunday.  There are those who tried to say that I wasn’t fit for the pulpit, ever again, because of some bad decisions made.  They said… “The man of God is supposed to live Above Reproach”!  As I was challenged on that end, I felt the need to go to God’s word and see if it were true.  Was I disqualified to ever preach the word again?  If the Bible were to say that I was no longer a candidate for ministry, it was time for me to look elsewhere in regards to what I would spend the rest of my life doing.  needless to say that, as I studied God’s word, I was refreshed.  Let’s clear this up for those who are short-sighted on the subject.

For it pleased the Father that in Him all the fullness should dwell, and by Him to reconcile all things to Himself, by Him, whether things on earth or things in heaven, having made peace through the blood of His cross. And you, who once were alienated and enemies in your mind by wicked works, yet now He has reconciled in the body of His flesh through death, to present you holy, and blameless, and above reproach in His sight.  Col 1:19-22

You see, the truth is, we are all above reproach who have accepted His blood as the sufficient sacrifice for our sin.  When we surrender to Him, we are at that point blameless and above reproach in the sight of God!  There’s no doubt in my mind that Paul was referring to one’s salvation experience.   If one is to seek the office of a Bishop, that one must know the Savior he seeks to serve!

Let me go on to cover this base before I move on.  I DO believe that there are sins that can be committed by the man of God which calles for discipline.  If a pastor is guilty of adultery, thievery, violence or any sin that directly harms the body and causes a breach of trust, then said pastor needs to step aside and sincerely seek God with humble, broken-hearted repentance before ever considering filling the pulpit again.  With that said, contrary to what some may believe, a pastor is never disqualified for a lifetime.

I would encourage every minister to live a life that reflects the Savior.  We need true men who, like Paul, beat their own bodies into submission and therefore refrain from falling prey to the snares of temptation.  At the same time, we need those who have failed to recognize that the call of God has not been lifted from their lives.  You sir are above reproach because of who lives within you not because of how you live.

About Chris Allman

I'm one of the millions who have experienced the repercussion of my sinful past. Unlike many, through Christ, I have recognized that the path before me does not have to be determined by the path behind. I have experienced the sweet forgiveness of God and have therefore chosen to walk in that forgiveness. Forgiving self is a day to day task and I believe that's why His mercies are new every morning. I pray that this daily reminder that we can choose to begin living today like we wish we'd lived in the past will be a solace for many who struggle with those things they wish they hadn't done.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Living Above Reproach

  1. mary says:

    Being a pastor is a difficult undertaking, even more so than my chosen life’s work, school teacher. You prayerfully go with what you feel is the best decision, knowing full well that criticism will follow because not everyone will be pleased. Often those who are the most critical are the ones who “don’t get it”. As long as pastors (and educators) walk daily with the Lord, all will be well. Thank you, Chris, for your ministry; you aren’t behind the pulpit now, but you serve and honor the Lord on a daily basis.

    Like

  2. mary says:

    Forgot to mention that Jesus had His critics too!

    Like

  3. Son says:

    A good word this morning, sir.

    Like

  4. Glenda says:

    Thank you for another good, thought-provoking article. While I agree that pastors are held to a higher standard, I also believe that those who listen to them have an obligation to pray for them to be strong. Many Christians never think about praying for the man whom God has sent to instruct and encourage them in their Christian walk. All of us who claim the name of Jesus have an obligation to live the example that Christ gave us, and we’re too eager to jump onto someone who has slipped. You are making me more aware of my God-given obligations, and I appreciate it! Have a wonderful day! 🙂

    Like

  5. I’ve thought this for years!! To me, legalists have majored on one or two of the qualifications listed in scripture for pastors rather than the entire list; and in the process have tied the hands of God-called preachers, treated them like 2nd class Christians, and rendered them useless for the cause of Christ. Being a preacher myself, I realize that if ALL of us preachers had the curtains pulled back on some of our actions and some of our thoughts, we’d all be disqualified by the scripture and definitely by the church. I SO love this post Chris! Reminds me a lot of another bible teacher, Steve Brown.

    Like

    • likeiwishidlived says:

      Bless you, my brother. Funny thing is… It’s a lot easier to live up to God’s standard than to the standard church folks would impose upon you!

      Like

  6. Janice Allman says:

    Another good one, from God’s mouth to man’s ears through you His servant. Love you. Mom

    Like

  7. Jerry & Carol Thomas says:

    Atta Boy, Chris you said it like it is! Keep up the good work! God is using you in so many ways and that’s what’s important just being available to be used by Him!!!

    Like

  8. Another great post Chris! Reminds me that Christ didn’t find perfect people to fulfill His will. He used the ones that most people looked down on and judged because of their pasts. I hate I have made some of the choices I have made in this life, but I wouldn’t take anything for how they’ve drawn me closer to the Lord and gave me a real understanding of His love and grace.

    Like

  9. Lane Loman says:

    My Dad, your grandfather, used to say, ” we are not called to angelic perfection, but to a perfection of relationship with our heavenly Father through an intimate relationship with His Son, Jesus! Perfection of performance? Probably not! Perfection of relationship with Christ? Possible!

    Like

  10. Ray Wall says:

    Chris, I sure do enjoy reading your thoughts and appreciate your biblical perspectives. Thanks once again for sharing!

    Like

  11. Wayne Page says:

    I agree 100%. People need to realize that you have to look at all of the qualifications also. I have enjoyed every post that you have shared. It is a great blog. Keep up the great work!

    Like

    • likeiwishidlived says:

      Bless you my friend. So thankful you are reading and that it’s blessing you! Sign up to follow the blog via email!

      Like

Leave a comment